1. September 2021, Miscellaneous

The starting point for a sustainable partnership: Austria – Hong Kong/Greater Bay EdTech Exchange

Austria and Hong Kong are both ideal entry markets in their respective regions for the latest educational technologies due to their size and rapidly growing EdTech ecosystems. What could be more obvious than to strengthen the connection to the EdTech ecosystem in Hong Kong?

And so 30 August 2021 marks the start of the EdTech dialogue between Austria and Hong Kong. EdTech Austria in partnership with Advantage Austria Hong Kong, InvestHK, Esperanza and Cyberport invited EdTech innovators, investors and users from Austria and Hong Kong to learn from each other and network virtually.

Hong Kong as a gateway to Asia

Digital learning goes beyond schools – it also affects universities, businesses and adult education. People need to continuously educate themselves in the fast-paced 21st century, and educational technologies can help them do so. “Both Austria and Hong Kong are ideal touchstones and gateways to the larger European and Asian markets respectively. EdTechs can start there first, gain insights, experiment and then scale to other markets,” says Hannes Aichmayr, project manager of EdTech Austria.

First, EdTech Austria, InvestHK and Esparanza gave an overview of the local EdTech sectors. For example, some participants were surprised to hear that the first European EdTech unicorn comes from Austria. GoStudent, the Vienna-based EdTech scaleup, recently closed a successful funding round and is now on its way to becoming Europe’s leading EdTech company. Austria is also home to nearly 100 other EdTech startups and some of them are already active in Asian markets.

InvestHK and Esparanza particularly recommended that Austrian EdTechs use Hong Kong to enter the entire Greater Bay Area, including major cities in South China and Macau. Specifically, international EdTechs can still apply until 7 September 2021 for the Edventure Global Business Accelerator Fellowship offered by Esperanza and Cyberport to build a network and enter the Asian market.

Austria – Hong Kong Startup Pitches

Afterwards, three EdTech start-ups each from Austria and Hong Kong presented their exciting applications. Artivive is already active in Asia with its augmented reality solution for connecting analogue and digital art. The same applies to the robotics kits from Robo Wunderkind, which teach children between the ages of five and twelve how to code in a playful way. And the third Austrian start-up in the group, MeetFox, an all-in-one solution for the simple handling of appointments, is currently already expanding to Asia.

From Hong Kong, the companies AESIR, Mandarin Matrix and Xccelerate presented their edtech solution. AESIR offers children with special needs innovative augmented and virtual reality-based games that teach the school material in an innovative way. Mandarin Matrix has developed its own solution for learning and practising Mandarin for non-native speakers, catering to the growing interest in the language worldwide. Xccelerate, on the other hand, develops customised data science education and training programmes for companies.

At the end of the event, the participants had the opportunity to ask questions to the startups and investors from Austria and Hong Kong gave valuable feedback to the EdTechs.

We are already looking forward to further exchanges and upcoming joint events!

In the communications team of ITG – Innovation Service for Salzburg, Maria brings innovative, digital companies and business models on stage. She is convinced that EdTech makes our education system better and is happy to help integrate EdTech into our educational landscape.

More articles

The following articles might also interest you.

Foto: Innovation Salzburg/Benedikt Schemmer

This is the EdTech Austria Team: Project Manager Julia Pichler

16. August 2022

Read article
Foto: MatheArena

MatheArena: Never again problems with maths

4. July 2022

Read article
Foto: Martin Krennbauer

“Just do it”: A teacher’s view of digital teaching

20. June 2022

Read article
photo: Innovation Salzburg/Birgit Probst

EdTech Summit Austria showed the diversity of the scene

4. May 2022

Read article
Foto: jamesmarkosborn on unsplash

Software development instead of unemployment – everyone codes makes it possible

20. April 2022

Read article

Allgemeines

Der Startschuss für eine nachhaltige Partnerschaft: Austria – Hong Kong/Greater Bay EdTech Exchange

Österreich und Hongkong sind beide aufgrund ihrer Größe sowie stark wachsender EdTech-Ökosysteme ideale Eintrittsmärkte in ihren jeweiligen Regionen für neueste Bildungstechnologien. Was liegt naheliegender, als die Verbindung zum EdTech Ökosystem in Hong Kong zu stärken?

Und so markiert der 30. August 2021 den Beginn des EdTech-Dialogs zwischen Österreich und Hongkong. EdTech Austria in Partnerschaft mit Advantage Austria Hong Kong, InvestHK, Esperanza und Cyberport luden EdTech-Innovator:innen, Investor:innen und Anwender:innen aus Österreich und Hongkong ein, voneinander zu lernen und sich virtuell zu vernetzen.

Hong Kong als Tor zu Asien

Digitales Lernen geht über den Bereich der Schulen hinaus – es betrifft auch Universitäten, Unternehmen und die Erwachsenenbildung. Die Menschen müssen sich im schnelllebigen 21. Jahrhundert laufend weiterbilden, und Bildungstechnologien können ihnen dabei helfen. “Sowohl Österreich als auch Hongkong sind ideale Prüfsteine und Tore für den größeren europäischen beziehungsweise asiatischen Markt. EdTechs können zunächst dort beginnen, Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen, zu experimentieren und anschließend in andere Märkte skalieren”, sagt Hannes Aichmayr, Projektleiter von EdTech Austria.

Zunächst gaben EdTech Austria sowie InvestHK und Esparanza einen Überblick über die lokalen EdTech Sektoren. So waren einige Teilnehmende überrascht zu hören, dass das erste europäische EdTech-Unicorn aus Österreich stammt. GoStudent, das in Wien ansässige EdTech-Scaleup, hat kürzlich eine erfolgreiche Finanzierungsrunde abgeschlossen und ist nun auf dem Weg, Europas führendes EdTech-Unternehmen zu werden. Österreich ist zudem die Heimat von weiteren knapp 100 EdTech-Startups und einige von ihnen sind bereits in asiatischen Märkten aktiv.

InvestHK und Esparanza empfahlen österreichischen EdTechs vor allem, Hongkong für den Einstieg in die gesamte Greater Bay Area inklusive der großen Städte in Südchina und Macao zu nutzen. Konkret können sich internationale EdTechs noch bis zum 7. September 2021 für das von Esperanza und Cyberport angebotene Edventure Global Business Accelerator Fellowship zum Aufbau eines Netzwerks sowie des Eintritts in den asiatischen Markt bewerben.

Austria – Hong Kong Startup Pitches

Anschließend präsentierten jeweils drei EdTech Startups aus Österreich und Hongkong ihre spannenden Anwendungen. Artivive ist mit ihrer Augmented Reality Lösung zu Verbindung analoger und digitaler Kunst bereits in Asien aktiv. Gleiches gilt auch für die Robotik-Baukästen von Robo Wunderkind, welche Kindern zwischen fünf und zwölf Jahren spielerische das Programmieren vermitteln. Und auch das dritte österreichische Startup im Bunde, MeetFox, eine All-in-One Lösung zur einfachen Abwicklung von Terminen, expandiert aktuell bereits nach Asien.

Von Seiten Hongkongs präsentierten sich die Unternehmen AESIR, Mandarin Matrix und Xccelerate. AESIR bietet Kindern mit Förderbedarf innovative Augmented und Virtual Reality basierte Spiele, welche den Schulstoff auf innovative Art und Weise vermitteln. Mandarin Matrix hat eine eigene Lösung zum Erlernen und Üben von Mandarin für Nichtmuttersprachler entwickelt und bedient damit das weltweit steigende Interesse an dieser Sprache. Xccelerate wiederum entwickelt maßgeschneiderte Data Science Aus- und Fortbildungsprogramme für Unternehmen.

Zum Abschluss der Veranstaltung bekamen die Teilnehmenden noch die Möglichkeit Fragen an die Startups zu stellen und Investoren aus Österreich sowie Hongkong gaben den EdTechs wertvolles Feedback.

Wir freuen uns bereits auf den weiteren Austausch und kommende gemeinsame Veranstaltungen!

Im Kommunikationsteam vom ITG – Innovationsservice für Salzburg holt Maria innovative, digitale Unternehmen und Geschäftsmodelle vor den Vorhang. Sie ist überzeugt, dass EdTech unser Bildungssystem besser macht und freut sich, bei der Integration von EdTech in unsere Bildungslandschaft mithelfen zu können.

Weitere Beiträge

Folgende Beiträge könnten Sie auch interessieren.

Foto: Julia M. Cameron on Pexels

Diese Tools helfen während des Lockdowns im Unterricht

Artikel lesen
Foto: Nikolaus Donner

VERITAS @EdTech Austria Innovation Challenge: Digitales Lernen effektiver und effizienter gestalten

Artikel lesen
Education Technology
Foto: Unsplash

Zweiter UK-Austria EdTech Austausch: Digital Solutions for the New Normal

Artikel lesen
Foto: Michael Fally
Foto: Michael Fally

SPAR @EdTech Innovation Challenge: Das Lernen mit Datenanalyse gezielt verbessern

Artikel lesen
Foto: Thomas Topf

Austrian Standards @ EdTech Austria Innovation Challenge: Standards digital unter die Leute bringen

Artikel lesen