17. June 2021, Miscellaneous

EdTech Austria at salz21 kompakt: The future of learning

On Wednesday, 16 June, the “salz21 kompakt – New Business Day” took place at the Messezentrum Salzburg. salz21 kompakt is the little sister of the salz21 Innovation Festival, which was postponed to March 2022 due to Corona regulations. However, the event’s appeal was not diminished by the reduction in size. Under the themes of Startups – EdTech – New Tourism, innovative people from Salzburg and Austria gathered to bring Salzburg’s economy into the 21st century and beyond.

In this context, EdTech Austria also found many like-minded people. In a separate EdTech panel, EdTech Austria project manager Hannes Aichmayr invited Annemarie Schaur from WIFI Salzburg, Raimund Lainer from SPAR Austria and Thomas Layer-Wagner from Polycular on stage to discuss knowledge management and professional development in the 21st century. “Digital education is something that is on everyone’s mind,” says Hannes Aichmayr. “There is a change taking place. Lifelong learning is becoming more and more important. We have to find new formats for this.”

The Corona crisis has given digital learning a big boost, all the panelists agree on that. But learning platforms and the like were already very relevant in continuing vocational education and training.

EdTech Austria Project Manager Hannes Aichmayr moderated the EdTech panel “The Future of Learning”. (photo: wildbild)

EdTech must bring benefits

At SPAR, the benefit for the learners is always in the foreground. Austria’s largest employer relied on electronic means for further education at an early stage – for example with CD-ROMs, which were replaced by a digital learning platform. “EdTech is a necessity for SPAR that we can no longer imagine doing without,” says Raimund Lainer. SPAR relies on a combination of e-learning and face-to-face courses, because personal contacts are still important in the retail group.

Annemarie Schaur also emphasises that e-learning must focus on the learner. Salzburg’s largest continuing education institute, WIFI Salzburg, uses educational technologies to make things easier organisationally, but also for the WIFI courses themselves. “We are in love with success. E-learning courses need some prerequisites for this: For example, clear rules and framework conditions for trainers and participants,” explains Annemarie Schaur. In this way, the WIFI courses work well with for example Zoom and their own learning platforms. This was shown by the results of the examinees, which were just as good as in face-to-face courses.

One aspect that both Annemarie Schaur and Raimund Lainer emphasise is that remote learning also makes further education more accessible to educationally disadvantaged groups. “E-learning makes it possible to learn without shame, because the learners can simply try it out,” explains Raimund Lainer.

The panelists: Annemarie Schaur (WIFI Salzburg), Raimund Lainer (SPAR) and Thomas Layer-Wagner (Polycular). (photo: wildbild)

Learning through experience and experimentation

The edtech aplications of the startup Polycular are also about trying things out and experimenting. The Salzburg-based company develops e-learning solutions with virtual or augmented reality applications. For example, a new workshop format was developed for the client Salzburg AG, where topics such as water and mobility were presented in an Escape Room app. “It’s all about solving puzzles, experimenting, experiencing and trying something out. This is immersive learning – learning through experience,” explains the founder Thomas Layer-Wagner. There are numerous use cases for this. For example, the Polycular team is researching VR applications where social interaction is involved. “With digital avatars, you can play through situations that are difficult or unpleasant, for example challenging sales talks.”

Gamification, the playful approach to learning, will become even more important in the future. “EdTech will bring new formats and new ways of learning in the next ten years. We will use technology even better and smarter and it will engage all the senses,” Raimund Lainer is convinced. Hybrid formats will become the norm, because – and everyone agrees on this – personal contact will always remain important.

 

In the communications team of ITG – Innovation Service for Salzburg, Maria brings innovative, digital companies and business models on stage. She is convinced that EdTech makes our education system better and is happy to help integrate EdTech into our educational landscape.

More articles

The following articles might also interest you.

Foto: CLICK&LEARN

CLICK&LEARN: The 5 EdTech trends to keep an eye on

27. September 2022

Read article
Foto: Innovation Salzburg/Benedikt Schemmer

Salzburg’s schoolchildren are introduced to the world of robotics

20. September 2022

Read article
Foto: Benedikt Schemmer/Innovation Salzburg

Das ist das EdTech Austria Team: Julia Turrell

9. September 2022

Read article
Foto: Innovation Salzburg/Benedikt Schemmer

This is the EdTech Austria team: Marlene Dietrich-Gsenger

6. September 2022

Read article
Foto: Innovation Salzburg/Benedikt Schemmer

This is the EdTech Austria Team: Project Manager Julia Pichler

16. August 2022

Read article

Allgemeines

EdTech Austria bei salz21 kompakt: Die Zukunft des Lernens

Am Mittwoch, 16. Juni ging im Messezentrum Salzburg der „salz21 kompakt – New Business Tag“ über die Bühne. salz21 kompakt ist die kleine Schwester des salz21 Innovationsfestivals, das aufgrund von Corona-Bestimmungen auf März 2022 verschoben wurde. Dem Reiz der Veranstaltung tat die Verkleinerung aber keinen Abbruch. Unter den Themen Startups – EdTech – New Tourism versammelten sich innovative Menschen aus Salzburg und von Auswärts, die die Salzburger Wirtschaft ins 21. Jahrhundert und darüber hinaus befördern wollen.

In diesem Rahmen fand auch EdTech Austria viele Gleichgesinnte. In einem eigenen EdTech-Panel lud EdTech Austria Projektleiter Hannes Aichmayr Annemarie Schaur vom WIFI Salzburg, Raimund Lainer von SPAR Österreich und Thomas Layer-Wagner von Polycular auf die Bühne, um über Wissensmanagement und berufliche Weiterbildung im 21. Jahrhundert zu diskutieren. „Digitale Bildung ist etwas, das alle umtreibt“, ist Hannes Aichmayr überzeugt. „Es findet ein Wandel statt. Lebenslanges Lernen wird immer wichtiger. Dafür müssen wir neue Formate finden“.

Die Corona-Krise hat dem digitalen Lernen einen großen Schub gegeben, da sind sich alle Podiumsgäste einig. Doch in der beruflichen Weiterbildung hatten Lernplattformen und Co auch vorher schon große Relevanz.

EdTech Austria-Projektleiter Hannes Aichmayr moderierte das EdTech-Panel „Die Zukunft des Lernens“. (Foto: wildbild)

EdTech muss Nutzen bringen

Bei SPAR steht hierbei der Nutzen für die Lernenden immer im Vordergrund. Österreichs größter Arbeitgeber setzte schon früh auf elektronische Mittel bei der Weiterbildung – etwa mit CD-ROMs, die von einer digitalen Lernplattform abgelöst wurden. „EdTech ist für SPAR eine Notwendigkeit, die nicht mehr wegzudenken ist“, so Raimund Lainer. SPAR setzt dabei auf eine Kombination von E-Learning und Präsenzkursen, denn persönliche Kontakte sind im Handelskonzern nach wie vor wichtig.

Auch Annemarie Schaur betont, dass beim E-Learning vor allem der Lernende im Zentrum stehen muss. Salzburgs größtes Weiterbildungsinstitut, das WIFI Salzburg, setzt Bildungstechnologien ein, um organisatorisch Erleichterungen zu schaffen, aber auch für die WIFI-Kurse selbst. „Wir sind ins Gelingen verliebt. E-Learning-Kurse brauchen dafür einige Voraussetzungen: Zum Beispiel klare Regeln und Rahmenbedingungen für Trainer:innen und Teilnehmer:innen“, erklärt Annemarie Schaur. So funktionieren ihre WIFI-Kurse gut mit Zoom und einer eigenen Lernplattformen. Das haben die Ergebnisse der Prüflinge gezeigt, die genauso gut ausfielen wie bei Präsenzkursen.

Ein Aspekt, den sowohl Annemarie Schaur und Raimund Lainer hervorheben, ist, dass Remote Learning auch bildungsfernen Schichten Weiterbildung zugänglicher macht. „E-Learning ermöglicht schamfreies Lernen, da die Lernenden einfach auch mal ausprobieren können“, erklärt Raimund Lainer.

Die Podiumsgäste (v.l.n.r.): Annemarie Schaur (WIFI Salzburg), Raimund Lainer (SPAR) und Thomas Layer-Wagner (Polycular). (Foto: wildbild)

Lernen durch Erleben und Experimentieren

Um Ausprobieren und Experimentieren geht es auch bei Polycular. Das Salzburger Unternehmen entwickelt E-Learning-Lösungen mit Virtual oder Augmented Reality-Anwendung. Für den Kunden Salzburg AG wurde etwa ein neues Workshop-Formt entwickelt, wo Themen wie Wasser und Mobilität in einer Escape Room-App aufbereitet wurden. „Da geht es darum, Rätsel zu lösen, zu experimentieren, zu erleben und etwas auszuprobieren. Das ist immersives Lernen – Lernen durch Erleben“, erklärt der Gründer. Dafür gibt es zahlreiche Use Cases. So forscht das Polycular-Team an VR-Anwendungen, wo es um soziale Interaktion geht. „Mit digitalen Avataren kann man Situationen durchspielen, die schwierig oder unangenehm sind, zum Beispiel herausfordernde Verkaufsgespräche“.

Gamification, also der spielerische Ansatz zu lernen, wird in der Zukunft noch wichtiger werden. „EdTech wird in den nächsten zehn Jahren neue Formate und neue Lernmethoden bringen. Wir werden Technologie noch besser und schlauer einsetzen und sie wird alle Sinne mitnehmen“, ist Raimund Lainer überzeugt. Hybride Formate werden zur Norm, denn – und da sind sich alle einig – der persönliche Kontakt wird immer wichtig bleiben.

Im Kommunikationsteam vom ITG – Innovationsservice für Salzburg holt Maria innovative, digitale Unternehmen und Geschäftsmodelle vor den Vorhang. Sie ist überzeugt, dass EdTech unser Bildungssystem besser macht und freut sich, bei der Integration von EdTech in unsere Bildungslandschaft mithelfen zu können.

Weitere Beiträge

Folgende Beiträge könnten Sie auch interessieren.

Fotos: Salzburg Aluminium Group

Let’s Hack – Das war der Lehrlingshackathon Salzburg

Artikel lesen
Foto: DaVinciLab

Die faszinierende Metamorphose des DaVinciLab

Artikel lesen
Foto: Florian Wehde on unsplash

Der Startschuss für eine nachhaltige Partnerschaft: Austria – Hong Kong/Greater Bay EdTech Exchange

Artikel lesen
Foto: Robo Wunderkind

Wenn: Robo, dann: Wunderkind – Die Formel für junge Robotik

Artikel lesen
Foto: ITG

Es braucht eine digitale Bildungsrevolution!

Artikel lesen