School, University, vocational education and training, Lifelong learning

Immersive learning has a future

Play. Educate. Inspire. This is the motto of Polycular, EdTech pioneers from Hallein, who focus on playful elements in the digital learning process.

The company, which was founded in 2014 and has already won several awards (recently with a Constantinus Award), realises projects with two different focuses, namely augmented reality (AR) and virtual reality (VR). AR is used, for example, in the so-called “Escape-AR”. Any room, such as an office, can be transformed into an interactive Escape Room in which knowledge is imparted to the players. Together with Salzburg AG, Polycular has developed an Escape-AR-Room that allows pupils to experience the topics of energy, mobility, water and telecommunications in a completely new and playful way.

Other projects deal with the effects of digitalisation on the world of work. Here Polycular is working with its second focus on virtual reality. In this way, collaboration with collaborative robots can be trained in a simulation. In a current research project, Polycular is developing training for social skills, for example in conflict situations. For a realistic experience, one faces an angry avatar in virtual space here.

What does immersive learning mean?

Polycular focuses on immersive learning in all its projects, which means imparting knowledge through experience and immersion in virtual worlds. AR and VR are particularly suitable for this. Through experience, interactivity and the playful approach, learning success can thus be increased.

Thomas Layer-Wagner using AR-Software | Photo: WKS/ Probst Photography

We asked Thomas Layer-Wagner

Co-founder Thomas Layer-Wagner talks about the beginnings, his visions for the education landscape in Austria and why Salzburg is a good place for EdTech start-ups.

How did you get into the EdTech sector?

I and my founding partner, Robert Praxmarer, who sadly passed away recently, practically forced themselves into the field of education technology. It comes from our own school and learning experience. A lot of learning content at school was simply too theoretical and not very tangible, and therefore difficult to understand. As teachers at the university of applied sciences, we also wished for even better teaching possibilities. We then saw the potential in extended reality technologies (XR), which include virtual reality (VR) and augmented reality (AR), as well as in gaming technologies and gamification, to contribute to a change. This opens up many possibilities for knowledge transfer. These technologies and the simulations and games they generate help to delve deeper into certain subject areas and achieve a better learning outcome through direct experience in a safe virtual environment and reflection on what is experienced. This immersive learning will play a major role in education in the future.

Why is Salzburg a good place for EdTech?

We have always been of the opinion that Salzburg is a well-suited location for this because the relevant training already exists here, which of course needs to be further strengthened. Especially for the application of XR in the learning sector, there are many young professionals in Salzburg. In addition, there are enough companies here and in the immediate vicinity in Bavaria and Upper Austria that have an interest in these topics, not to mention tourism, which could also benefit from these technologies.

See below.

How do you see the start of EdTech Austria?

It underlines the importance of the topic. EdTech Austria can act as a catalyst for all those who are active in the EdTech sector. The sector and the topic become more visible. There is a lot going on in the EdTech sector at the moment. There is so much upheaval and innovation. A lot can happen in the education landscape in Austria in the next few years. Away from traditional learning methods towards immersive learning. Digital possibilities like VR make it possible to learn from experience, you are right in the middle of it. Training on the job is possible and you don’t have to be afraid of making mistakes. This way, learners are perfectly prepared for real-life situations.

What is your vision for the education landscape in Austria?

Through Covid, some weaknesses and problems in education have been uncovered. So we have already recognised what is necessary in terms of infrastructure for a modern educational landscape in Austria. My vision is that learning and continuing learning will be perceived as something very positive in the future. This can be achieved through immersive learning. People should be prepared for challenges through further education, for example at work. In education, people are also allowed to make mistakes, to try things out and to experience learning. This requires modern digital learning methods.

In the communications team of ITG – Innovation Service for Salzburg, Maria brings innovative, digital companies and business models on stage. She is convinced that EdTech makes our education system better and is happy to help integrate EdTech into our educational landscape.

More articles

The following articles might also interest you.

Foto: Julia M. Cameron on Pexels

These tools help in the classroom during lockdown

Read article
Education Technology
Foto: Unsplash

Second UK-Austria EdTech Exchange: Digital Solutions for the New Normal

Read article
Photo: Nikolaus Donner

VERITAS @EdTech Austria Innovation Challenge: Making digital learning more effective and efficient

Read article
Michael Fally, Leiter Konzernale Lernmedien SPAR
Foto: Michael Fally

SPAR @ EdTech Innovation Challenge: Data analytics for a learning management system

Read article
Foto: Thomas Topf

Austrian Standards @ EdTech Austria Innovation Challenge: Bringing standards digitally to people

Read article

Schule, Hochschule, berufliche Aus- und Weiterbildung, Lebenslanges Lernen

Immersives Lernen hat Zukunft

Play. Educate. Inspire. So lautet das Motto von Polycular, EdTech-Pioniere aus Hallein, die auf spielerische Elemente im  digitalen Lernprozess setzen.

Das 2014 gegründete, bereits mehrfach ausgezeichnete, Unternehmen (kürzlich mit einem Constantinus Award) realisiert Projekte mit zwei unterschiedlichen Schwerpunkten, nämlich Augmented Reality (AR) und Virtual Reality (VR). AR kommt beispielsweise bei dem sogenannten „Escape-AR“ zum Einsatz. Jeder Raum, etwa ein Büro, kann in einen interaktiven Escape Room verwandelt werden, in dem den Spieler:innen Wissen vermittelt wird. So hat Polycular etwa gemeinsam mit der Salzburg AG einen Escape-AR-Room entwickelt, der Schüler:innen auf völlig neue und spielerische Art die Themen Energie, Mobilität, Wasser und Telekommunikation erleben lässt.

Weitere Projekte beschäftigen sich mit den Auswirkungen der Digitalisierung auf die Arbeitswelt. Hier arbeitet Polycular mit ihrem zweiten Schwerpunkt Virtual Reality. So kann in einer Simulation die Zusammenarbeit mit kollaborativen Robotern trainiert werden. In einem aktuellen Forschungsprojekt entwickelt Polycular ein Training für soziale Fähigkeiten zum Beispiel in Konfliktsituationen. Für ein realistisches Erlebnis steht man hier im virtuellen Raum einem aufgebrachten Avatar gegenüber.

Was bedeutet immersives Lernen?

Polycular setzt bei allen Projekten auf immersives Lernen, das heißt, Wissen durch Erleben und das Eintauchen in virtuelle Welten zu vermitteln. Dafür eigent sich AR und VR besonders. Durch Erfahrung, Interaktivität und dem spielerischen Ansatz kann der Lernerfolg so gesteigert werden.

Polycular. Foto: WKS/ Probst Photographie, 29.01.2021

Nachgefragt bei Thomas Layer-Wagner

Mitbegründer Thomas Layer-Wagner erzählt von den Anfängen, seinen Visionen für die Bildungslandschaft in Österreich und warum Salzburg ein gutes Pflaster für EdTech Startups ist.

Wie bist du zur EdTech-Branche gekommen?

Die Beschäftigung mit Education Technology hat sich mir und meinem Gründerpartner, dem leider erst kürzlich verstorbenen Robert Praxmarer, quasi aufgedrängt. Das kommt aus der eigenen Schul- und Lernerfahrung. Viele Lerninhalte in der Schule waren einfach zu theoretisch und wenig greifbar und dadurch auch schwer zu verstehen. Als Lehrende an der Fachhochschule haben wir uns dann ebenfalls noch bessere Vermittlungsmöglichkeiten gewünscht. Wir haben dann in den Extended-Reality-Technologien (XR), zu denen etwa Virtual (VR) und Augmented Reality (AR) zählen, und auch in Spieletechnologien und Gamification das Potenzial gesehen, zu einer Veränderung beizutragen. Daraus ergeben sich viele Möglichkeiten der Wissensvermittlung. Diese Technologien und die damit erzeugten Simulationen und Spiele helfen, tiefer in bestimmte Themengebiete einzutauchen und durch das unmittelbare Erleben in einer sicheren virtuellen Umgebung und die Reflexion des Erlebten ein besseres Lernergebnis zu erzielen. Dieses immersive Lernen wird in Zukunft eine große Rolle im Bildungsbereich spielen werden.

Warum ist Salzburg ein gutes Pflaster für EdTech?

Wir sind schon immer der Meinung gewesen, dass Salzburg ein gut geeigneter Standort dafür ist, weil es hier bereits die entsprechenden Ausbildungen gibt, die natürlich weiter gestärkt werden müssen. Besonders für die Anwendung von XR im Lernbereich gibt es viele Nachwuchskräfte in Salzburg. Außerdem gibt es hier und in der näheren Umgebung in Bayern und Oberösterreich genügend Betriebe, die ein Interesse an diesen Themen haben, nicht zu vergessen der Tourismus, der ebenfalls von diesen Technologien profitieren könnte.

Wie siehst du den Start von EdTech Austria?

Es unterstreicht die Bedeutung des Themas. EdTech Austria kann als Katalysator für alle, die im EdTech-Bereich tätig sind, wirken. Die Branche und das Thema werden sichtbarer. In der EdTech Branche tut sich aktuell sehr viel. Es gibt so viel Umbruch und Innovation. Da kann in den nächsten Jahren in der Bildungslandschaft in Österreich viel passieren. Weg von traditionellen Lernmethoden hin zu immersivem Lernen. Digitale Möglichkeiten wie VR machen es möglich, aus der Erfahrung heraus zu lernen, man ist mittendrin. Trainings im Job sind so möglich und man muss keine Angst haben, dass Fehler passieren. So sind Lernende perfekt vorbereitet für reale Situationen.

Was ist deine Vision für die Bildungslandschaft in Österreich?

Durch Covid wurden einige Schwachstellen und Probleme in der Bildung aufgedeckt. Wir haben also schon erkannt, was infrastrukturell notwendig ist für eine moderne Bildungslandschaft in Österreich. Als Vision habe ich, dass Lernen und Weiterlernen in der Zukunft als etwas sehr Positives wahrgenommen wird. Das lässt sich durch immersives Lernen erreichen. Die Menschen sollen durch Weiterbildung etwa im Beruf auf Herausforderungen vorbereitet werden. Bei der Bildung dürfen auch einmal Fehler gemacht werden, man darf sich ausprobieren und das Lernen erleben. Dazu braucht es moderne digitale Lernmethoden.

Im Kommunikationsteam vom ITG – Innovationsservice für Salzburg holt Maria innovative, digitale Unternehmen und Geschäftsmodelle vor den Vorhang. Sie ist überzeugt, dass EdTech unser Bildungssystem besser macht und freut sich, bei der Integration von EdTech in unsere Bildungslandschaft mithelfen zu können.

Weitere Beiträge

Folgende Beiträge könnten Sie auch interessieren.

Foto: Florian Wehde on unsplash

Der Startschuss für eine nachhaltige Partnerschaft: Austria – Hong Kong/Greater Bay EdTech Exchange

Artikel lesen
Foto: Robo Wunderkind

Wenn: Robo, dann: Wunderkind – Die Formel für junge Robotik

Artikel lesen
Foto: ITG

Es braucht eine digitale Bildungsrevolution!

Artikel lesen
Foto: MeetFox

MeetFox erlöst Eltern aus der Sprechstunden-Warteschlange

Artikel lesen
Foto: Artivive

Augmented Reality von Artivive küsst die Kunst in die Moderne

Artikel lesen