School

Online tutoring with GoStudent – It’s a match!

Almost 170,000 Austrian students took advantage of paid tutoring in the 2019/2020 school year. The total need for tutoring is even greater and amounts to almost 320,000 – that’s one third of all students* – an immense number, and the tutoring market is correspondingly large. Who thinks however now with private tutoring only of classical single or group instruction, does not know the tutoring platform GoStudent. The Viennese company has brought tutoring into the digital age.

Matchmaking for the Nachhilfe

GoStudent offers online tutoring in a wide range of subjects. The special thing about the concept, however, is not the digital processing – here, the company relies on classic online platforms such as Zoom. The great strength of GoStudent is the “matchmaking” of teacher and child. GoStudent has a large pool of teachers, with different teaching subjects, but also different interests, time resources, strengths and weaknesses. Children also differ in their needs and interests. Many conversations of GoStudent with parents and teachers lead to the perfect match. A good relationship between child and teacher promotes learning success, is convinced Felix Ohswald, founder and managing director of GoStudent. And so it happens that two soccer fans or gamers are tutoring together.

Simply the best

“There are many excellent teachers out there who can present their subject in an engaging and interesting way. This makes learning much easier and inspires the children. Such teachers can also have an influence on the children’s later educational and career paths,” explains Felix Ohswald. That’s exactly the kind of teacher the tutoring company is looking for. Up-to-date only five to ten per cent of all appplicants come by the selection procedure of GoStudent. Only the best make it into the team. Mostly it is students, who would like to earn something in addition and have time to pass on their interests.

Continuous support as USP

The service of GoStudent does not stop at matchmaking. The care runs also during the tutoring- if there are problems, the teacher precipitates or the parents or children are not content. The USP of GoStudent is therefore not necessarily the digital tutoring, but the special service and the individual support that is offered. Whereby it is of course an advantage if the lessons can take place independent of time and location. That was already the case before the Corona crisis.

Europe-wide expansion through high investments

And so the success of GoStudent is by no means surprising. Last year, Felix Ohswald and his team raised a total of 13.3 million euros in investments in financing rounds. This enabled them to implement their expansion plans. In many European markets, such as Great Britain, France, Greece and Spain, the tutoring service can already be booked. For this purpose, the company has local sales teams on site in each case that take care of matchmaking. GoStudent is now the European market leader in online tutoring. But the EdTech success story is far from over.

*souce: https://www.arbeiterkammer.at/interessenvertretung/arbeitundsoziales/bildung/Nachhilfe_in_Oesterreich_2020.pdf


Founder Felix Ohswald (photo: GoStudent)

We asked Felix Ohswald

You are a participant in the UK Austria EdTech Exchange on March 12, 2021, what do you expect from the event?

I’ve been in the industry for five years now. A couple of issues I keep seeing are around the business model. That’s the big problem with all EdTechs and the reason we don’t see more EdTechs in Europe: who pays for it at the end of the day? Selling to schools involves insanely long sales cycles and is bureaucratic and nerve-wracking. Even funders are reluctant to invest in companies that sell to schools. Because it doesn’t work well either. That’s where the cat bites the tail – there are super cool ideas for the school. But at the same time, it can’t be sold.

My expectations for the event are that there’s a focus on that. What business models really work? What can I sell to the end customers? And if I can’t, can I sell that somehow through the state? The business model remains the crux of every EdTech!

Is it easier in the UK?

No, from what we hear from there, it’s not necessarily easier. Even there, if you want to scale really fast and big, you have to be able to bring it directly to the end customer.

What do you think about the launch of EdTech Austria?

I’m extremely passionate about the topic of education. Unfortunately, this is very fragmented in Austria. However, the importance of education is so huge. When you inspire a child, whether it’s through EdTech or something else, it has a huge impact on that child’s future. All initiatives that strengthen that, I think are very good.

You have already completed very successful investment rounds. How did you manage that?

It comes back to the topic of the business model. A good idea and a good team with a strong background are important for the initial phase. If this is the case, you can certainly raise money for the first phase. But once the product or at least a prototype is there and you want to get follow-up investments as a startup, the business model has to work. It has to be profitable and scalable, even in other countries and other languages. Then the company will also succeed in attracting investors. They are interested in the fact that the invested money can be used to grow faster and drive product innovation forward more quickly. The business model must be clear and simple – it stands and falls with it. The big keywords here are therefore business model – scalability – internationality!

 

In the communications team of ITG – Innovation Service for Salzburg, Maria brings innovative, digital companies and business models on stage. She is convinced that EdTech makes our education system better and is happy to help integrate EdTech into our educational landscape.

More articles

The following articles might also interest you.

(Fotos: Salzburg Aluminium Group)

Let’s Hack – That was the Apprentice Hackathon Salzburg

Read article
Foto: DaVinciLab

The fascinating metamorphosis of the DaVinciLab

Read article
Foto: Florian Wehde on unsplash

The starting point for a sustainable partnership: Austria – Hong Kong/Greater Bay EdTech Exchange

Read article
(Foto: Robo Wunderkind)

If: Robo, then: Wunderkind – The formula for young robotics

Read article
Foto: ITG

We need a digital education revolution!

Read article

Schule

Online-Nachhilfeunterricht mit GoStudent – It’s a match!

Fast 170.000 österreichische Schülerinnen und Schüler haben im Schuljahr 2019/2020 bezahlte Nachhilfe in Anspruch genommen. Der Gesamtbedarf an Nachhilfe ist sogar noch größer und beläuft sich auf fast 320.000 – das sind ein Drittel aller Schüler:innen.* Eine immense Zahl – der Nachhilfemarkt ist dementsprechend groß. Wer aber nun bei Nachhilfe nur an klassischen Einzel- oder Gruppenunterricht denkt, kennt die Nachhilfe-Plattform GoStudent nicht. Das Wiener Unternehmen hat den Förderunterricht nämlich in das digitale Zeitalter geholt.

Matchmaking für die Nachhilfe

GoStudent bietet Online-Nachhilfeunterricht in verschiedensten Fächern an. Das Besondere an dem Konzept ist jedoch nicht die digitale Abwicklung – hier wird auf klassische Onlineplattformen wie Zoom gesetzt. Die große Stärke von GoStudent ist das „Matchmaking“ von Lehrer:in und Kind. GoStudent hat einen großen Pool an Lehrer:innen, mit unterschiedlichen Unterrichtsfächern, aber auch unterschiedlichen Interessen, Zeitressourcen, Stärken und Schwächen. Auch die Kinder unterscheiden sich in ihren Bedürfnissen und Interessen. Viele Gespräche von GoStudent mit Eltern und Lehrer:innen führen zum perfekten Match. Eine gute Beziehung zwischen Kind und Pädagogin:in fördert den Lernerfolg, ist Felix Ohswald, Gründer und Geschäftsführer von GoStudent, überzeugt. Und so passiert es schon mal, dass zwei Fußballfans oder Gamer:innen gemeinsam Nachhilfe betreiben.

Simply the best

„Es gibt viele ausgezeichnete Lehrer:innen da draußen, die ihr Fach mitreißend und interessant präsentieren können. Da fällt das Lernen viel leichter und inspiriert die Kinder. Solche Pädagog:innen können auch einen Einfluss auf den späteren Bildungs- und Berufsweg der Kinder haben“, erklärt Felix Ohswald. Genau solche Lehrenden sucht das Nachhilfe-Unternehmen. Aktuell kommen nur fünf bis zehn Prozent aller Bewerber:innen durch das Auswahlverfahren von GoStudent. Nur die Besten schaffen es in das Team. Meistens sind es Studierende, die sich gerne etwas dazu verdienen wollen und Zeit haben, ihre Interessen weiter zu geben.

Fortlaufende Betreuung als USP

Das Service von GoStudent hört aber nicht beim Matchmaking auf. Die Betreuung läuft auch während der Nachhilfe – wenn es Probleme gibt, der oder die Nachhilfelehrer:in ausfällt oder die Eltern oder Kinder nicht zufrieden sind. Der USP von GoStudent ist also nicht unbedingt die digitale Nachhilfe, sondern der besondere Service und die individuelle Betreuung, der geboten wird. Wobei es natürlich ein Vorteil ist, wenn der Unterricht zeit- und ortsunabhängig stattfinden kann. Das war auch vor der Corona-Krise schon so.

Europaweite Expansion durch hohe Investments

Und so überrascht der Erfolg von GoStudent keineswegs. Letztes Jahr konnte Felix Ohswald mit seinem Team in Summe 13,3 Millionen Euro an Investment in Finanzierungsrunden lukrieren. So konnten sie ihre Expansionspläne umsetzen. In vielen europäischen Märkten wie in Großbritannien, Frankreich, Griechenland und Spanien kann man die Nachhilfe bereits buchen. Dafür hat das Unternehmen jeweils lokale Sales-Teams vor Ort, die sich um das Matchmaking kümmern. Mittlerweile ist GoStudent europäischer Marktführer im Onlineunterricht. Doch die Erfolgsstory des EdTechs ist damit noch lange nicht zu Ende.

*Quelle: https://www.arbeiterkammer.at/interessenvertretung/arbeitundsoziales/bildung/Nachhilfe_in_Oesterreich_2020.pdf


Gründer Felix Ohswald (Foto: GoStudent)

Nachgefragt bei Felix Ohswald

Du bist Teilnehmer am UK Austria EdTech Exchange am 12. März 2021. Was erwartest du dir von der Veranstaltung?

Ich bin jetzt fünf Jahre in der Industrie. Ein paar Probleme, die ich immer wieder sehe, betreffen das Geschäftsmodell. Das ist das große Problem aller EdTechs und der Grund, warum wir in Europa nicht mehr EdTechs sehen: wer zahlt am Ende des Tages dafür? Der Verkauf an Schulen ist mit wahnsinnig langen Verkaufszyklen verbunden und ist bürokratisch und nervenaufreibend. Auch Geldgeber:innen investieren ungern in Firmen, die an Schulen verkaufen. Weil es auch nicht gut funktioniert. Da beißt sich die Katze in den Schwanz – es gibt supercoole Ideen für die Schule. Aber gleichzeitig kann es nicht verkauft werden.

Meine Erwartungen für das Event sind, dass man darauf einen Fokus legt. Welche Geschäftsmodelle funktionieren wirklich? Was kann ich an die Endkund:innen verkaufen? Und wenn ich das nicht kann, kann ich das irgendwie über den Staat verkaufen? Das Geschäftsmodell bleibt der Knackpunkt für jedes EdTech!

Ist es in UK leichter?

Nein, was wir von dort mitbekommen, ist es nicht unbedingt leichter. Auch dort gilt, wenn du wirklich schnell und groß skalieren möchtest, musst du es direkt an den Endkunden bringen können.

Was denkst du über den Start von EdTech Austria?

Ich brenne extrem für das Thema Bildung. Leider ist diese in Österreich sehr fragmentiert. Die Bedeutung von Bildung ist jedoch so enorm. Wenn du ein Kind inspirierst, sei es jetzt durch EdTech oder durch etwas anderes, hat das enorme Auswirkungen auf die Zukunft des Kindes. Alle Initiativen, die das stärken, finde ich sehr gut.

Ihr habt ja schon sehr erfolgreiche Investmentrunden hinter euch gebracht. Wie ist euch das gelungen?

Es führt wieder auf das Thema Geschäftsmodell zurück. Für die Initialphase ist eine gute Idee und ein gutes Team mit einem starken Background wichtig. Ist das gegeben, kann man sicher einmal für die erste Phase Geld lukrieren. Wenn das Produkt oder zumindest ein Prototyp da ist und man als Startup Folgeinvestments bekommen möchte, muss aber das Geschäftsmodell funktionieren. Das muss profitabel und skalierbar sein, auch in andere Länder und in andere Sprachen. Dann wird es dem Unternehmen auch gelingen, Investor:innen zu bekommen. Diese sind daran interessiert, dass man mit dem investierten Geld schneller wachsen und die Produktinnovation schneller vorantreiben kann. Das Geschäftsmodell muss dabei klar und einfach sein – damit steht und fällt es. Die großen Stichworte sind hier also Geschäftsmodell – Skalierbarkeit – Internationalität!

Im Kommunikationsteam vom ITG – Innovationsservice für Salzburg holt Maria innovative, digitale Unternehmen und Geschäftsmodelle vor den Vorhang. Sie ist überzeugt, dass EdTech unser Bildungssystem besser macht und freut sich, bei der Integration von EdTech in unsere Bildungslandschaft mithelfen zu können.

Weitere Beiträge

Folgende Beiträge könnten Sie auch interessieren.

Foto: Florian Wehde on unsplash

Der Startschuss für eine nachhaltige Partnerschaft: Austria – Hong Kong/Greater Bay EdTech Exchange

Artikel lesen
Foto: Robo Wunderkind

Wenn: Robo, dann: Wunderkind – Die Formel für junge Robotik

Artikel lesen
Foto: ITG

Es braucht eine digitale Bildungsrevolution!

Artikel lesen
Foto: MeetFox

MeetFox erlöst Eltern aus der Sprechstunden-Warteschlange

Artikel lesen
Foto: Artivive

Augmented Reality von Artivive küsst die Kunst in die Moderne

Artikel lesen