13. December 2021, Miscellaneous

Innovation laboratory for the child education of the future

Society is facing major challenges. On the one hand, the way we obtain information has changed greatly due to digitalization, and on the other hand, cooperative and interdisciplinary approaches are needed to make learning and education around topics such as climate change, democracy, social cohesion, new media cultures, gender and artificial intelligence possible in schools.

Paris Lodron University Salzburg and the Salzburg University of Teacher Education are therefore opening the Innovation Lab for Education “INTER-DI-KO”: “Interdisciplinarity – Digitization – Cooperation” from fall 2022 to test new educational formats. Therefore, the INTER-DI-KO innovation lab is about bringing together three areas that will significantly shape the teaching of the future:

  • Cross-disciplinary issues in the face of 21st century societal crises
  • Technological change in knowledge communication
  • Cooperation between school, college and university

The goal of the innovation lab is to test how an innovative learning environment can be used to build “future skills” in students. The 4 C’s – Collaboration, Creativity, Communication, Critical Thinking – are the focus; digital tools are the driver to find new forms of communication. “In the innovation lab, all stakeholders involved in teaching – teachers, students, school administrators, as well as student teachers and researchers – will be involved in testing new teaching formats,” says the project’s director on the university side, Prof. Ulrike Greiner.  Particular attention is being paid to how teachers can teach socially relevant topics such as climate change, democracy, social cohesion, new media cultures, gender and artificial intelligence in schools. A number of Salzburg schools have already expressed interest in participating in the innovation lab.

INTER-DI-KO project team: Ulrike Greiner, Vice Rector for Teaching at the University of Salzburg, Martin Weichbold, Vice Rector for Teaching at the University of Salzburg, Christine W. Trültzsch-Wijnen, PH Salzburg, Provincial Councillor Andrea Klambauer, Rector PH Salzburg Daniela Martinek (photo: Kolarik Andreas)

Space for testing technology

As part of this project, an innovation lab will be created at the PH Salzburg Stefan Zweig, which will be equipped with digital technologies. In addition, a mobile lab will be set up that can be used on site at the schools. These labs will be available to the project participants for testing teaching innovations. For Vice Rector Prof. Martin Weichbold (PLUS) and Rector Prof. Daniela Martinek (PH), this project very clearly reinforces the forward-looking cooperation between the institutions at the site. In this context, EdTech Austria, which is located at ITG – Innovationsservice für Salzburg, provides a large network of companies, education experts as well as decision makers and cooperates with the entire project team.

Hannes Aichmayr, Portrait, 29.1.2021
EdTech Austria project manager Hannes Aichmayr. photo: WKS/Probst Photographie

“Digital teaching and learning applications – so-called EdTech solutions – have become indispensable in schools since the beginning of the pandemic at the latest. We have made great progress in terms of technological infrastructure, but in which teaching settings digital tools lead to the best learning outcomes for students is still an open question in good part. With this new project, we can now test innovative EdTech solutions in Salzburg, which is unique for Austria, deliver empirical results and create added value for all stakeholders,” says Hannes Aichmayr, project manager of EdTech Austria.

 

 

 

 

Focus on students and student teachers

The innovation lab will start with two concrete projects. In “Giving Students a Voice,” students actively participate in the development of lessons by becoming media producers. They learn how to prepare school knowledge and knowledge they have acquired themselves in the media – with podcasts, short films, videos, blogs, etc. In the process, they acquire not only specialist knowledge, but also the necessary skills. In addition to specialist knowledge, they also acquire digital know-how and media skills, reports Prof. Christine Trültzsch-Wijnen, who is responsible for the project at the University of Education. The second project, “Developing the Lessons of the Future,” focuses on student teachers. Students develop new, digital teaching materials for socially relevant topics and their cooperative processing.

Funding makes innovation lab possible

The new innovation labs are funded by the Innovation Foundation for Education. In this way, the foundation supports the establishment and operation of spaces for testing and developing innovative teaching and learning methods and EdTech solutions. Five innovation labs in Austria were awarded the funding program, including the Salzburg Innovation Lab. More than 700,000 euros will be made available for this purpose, 50 percent of which will be financed by the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) and 50 percent by the University of Salzburg, the Salzburg University of Education and the province of Salzburg. “With this educational laboratory, technological change in knowledge communication is being actively shaped. When planning the innovation lab, we were convinced that digitization would enable new teaching formats. In the meantime, the need in the wake of the Corona crisis has increased digital competence in education very quickly. It is important to incorporate these experiences and let the positive results flow into future developments. It is a project that will help to lift the wings of our children in the future,” says Landesrätin Mag. Klambauer in her statement.

 

In the communications team of ITG – Innovation Service for Salzburg, Maria brings innovative, digital companies and business models on stage. She is convinced that EdTech makes our education system better and is happy to help integrate EdTech into our educational landscape.

More articles

The following articles might also interest you.

Foto: Innovation Salzburg/Benedikt Schemmer

This is the EdTech Austria Team: Project Manager Julia Pichler

16. August 2022

Read article
Foto: MatheArena

MatheArena: Never again problems with maths

4. July 2022

Read article
Foto: Martin Krennbauer

“Just do it”: A teacher’s view of digital teaching

20. June 2022

Read article
photo: Innovation Salzburg/Birgit Probst

EdTech Summit Austria showed the diversity of the scene

4. May 2022

Read article
Foto: jamesmarkosborn on unsplash

Software development instead of unemployment – everyone codes makes it possible

20. April 2022

Read article

Allgemeines

Innovationslabor für die Kinderbildung der Zukunft

Die Gesellschaft steht vor großen Herausforderungen. Zum einen hat sich die Art, wie wir Informationen beziehen, durch die Digitalisierung stark verändert, zum anderen braucht es kooperative und interdisziplinäre Ansätze, um Lernen und Bildung rund um Themen wie Klimawandel, Demokratie, sozialer Zusammenhalt, neue Medienkulturen, Gender und Künstliche Intelligenz in der Schule möglich zu machen.

Die Paris Lodron Universität Salzburg und die Pädagogische Hochschule Salzburg eröffnen ab Herbst 2022 deshalb das Innovationslabor für Bildung „INTER-DI-KO“: „Interdisziplinarität – Digitalisierung –  Kooperation“, um neue Bildungsformate zu testen. Daher geht es im Innovationslabor INTER-DI-KO darum, drei Bereiche zusammenzubringen, die den Unterricht der Zukunft wesentlich mitbestimmen werden:

  • Fachübergreifende Fragen angesichts der gesellschaftlichen Krisen des 21. Jahrhunderts
  • Technologischer Wandel in der Wissenskommunikation
  • Zusammenarbeit von Schule, Hochschule und Universität

Ziel des Innovationslabors ist, zu testen, wie man mittels einer innovativen Lernumgebung „Future Skills“ bei Schüler:innen und Studierenden aufbauen kann. Die 4 K’s – Kollaboration, Kreativität, Kommunikation, Kritisches Denken – stehen im Mittelpunkt; digitale Werkzeuge sind der Treiber, um neue Formen der Kommunikation zu finden. „Im Innovationslabor werden alle am Unterricht beteiligten Akteur:innen – Lehrende, Schüler:innen, Schuladministration sowie Lehramtsstudierende und Wissenschaftler:innen – an der Erprobung neuer Unterrichtsformate beteiligt“, so die Leiterin des Projektes seitens der Universität, Prof. Ulrike Greiner.  Ein besonderes Augenmerk wird daraufgelegt, wie Lehrende gesellschaftsrelevante Themenstellungen wie Klimawandel, Demokratie, sozialen Zusammenhalt, neue Medienkulturen, Gender und Künstliche Intelligenz in der Schule vermitteln können. Einige Salzburger Schulen haben bereits Interesse bekundet, beim Innovationslabor mitzuwirken.

Projektteam INTER-DI-KO: Ulrike Greiner, Vizerektorin für Lehre der Universität Salzburg, Martin Weichbold, Vizerektor für Lehre Universität Salzburg, Christine W. Trültzsch-Wijnen, PH Salzburg, Landesrätin Andrea Klambauer, Rektorin PH Salzburg Daniela Martinek (Foto: Kolarik Andreas)

Räumlichkeiten zur Erprobung von Technologie

Im Rahmen dieses Projekts wird an der PH Salzburg Stefan Zweig ein Innovationslabor entstehen, das mit digitalen Technologien ausgestattet wird. Zudem wird ein mobiles Labor eingerichtet, das vor Ort an den Schulen genutzt werden kann. Diese Labore stehen den Projektbeteiligten zur Erprobung von Unterrichtsinnovationen zur Verfügung. Für Vizerektor Prof. Martin Weichbold (PLUS) und Rektorin Prof. Daniela Martinek (PH) bestärkt dieses Projekt sehr deutlich die zukunftsweisende Zusammenarbeit der Institutionen am Standort. Dabei stellt EdTech Austria, die beim ITG – Innovationsservice für Salzburg angesiedelt ist, ein großes Netzwerk an Unternehmen, Bildungsfachleuten sowie Entscheidungsträgerinnen und Entscheidungsträger zur Verfügung und arbeitet mit dem gesamten Projektteam zusammen.

Hannes Aichmayr, Portrait, 29.1.2021
EdTech Austria-Projektleiter Hannes Aichmayr. Foto: WKS/Probst Photographie

„Digitale Lehr- und Lernanwendungen – sogenannten EdTech Lösungen – sind spätestens seit Beginn der Pandemie nicht mehr aus der Schule wegzudenken. Hinsichtlich technologischer Infrastruktur haben wir große Fortschritte gemacht, doch in welchen Unterrichtssettings digitale Tools zu den besten Lernergebnissen für Schülerinnen und Schüler führen, ist in guten Teilen noch eine offene Frage. Mit diesem neuen Projekt können wir nun in Salzburg, und das einmalig für Österreich, innovative EdTech Lösungen ausprobieren, empirische Ergebnisse liefern und Mehrwert für alle Beteiligten stiften“, sagt Hannes Aichmayr, Projektleiter von EdTech Austria.

 

 

 

Schüler:innen und Lehramtsstudierende im Fokus

Gestartet wird das Innovationslabor mit zwei konkreten Projekten. Bei „Schüler:innen eine Stimme geben” wirken Schüler:innen in der Unterrichtsentwicklung aktiv mit, indem sie zu Medienproduzent:innen werden. Sie lernen schulisches und selbsterworbenes Wissen medial aufzubereiten – mit Podcasts, Kurzfilmen, Videos, Blogs etc. Dabei eignen sie sich neben Fachwissen auch digitales Know-how und Medienkompetenz an, berichtet die für das Projekt seitens der Pädagogischen Hochschule Verantwortliche Prof. Christine Trültzsch-Wijnen. Beim zweiten Projekt „Den Unterricht der Zukunft entwickeln“ stehen Lehramtsstudierende im Mittelpunkt. Studierende entwickeln neues, digitales Lehrmaterial für gesellschaftsrelevante Themen und deren kooperative Bearbeitung.

Förderung ermöglicht Innovationslabor

Die neuen Innovationslabore werden von der Innovationsstiftung für Bildung gefördert. Damit unterstützt die Stiftung den Aufbau und Betrieb von Räumen zum Erproben und Entwickeln von innovativen Lehr- und Lernmethoden und von EdTech-Lösungen. Fünf Innovationslabore in Österreich bekamen den Zuschlag zu dem Förderprogramm, darunter auch das Salzburger Innovationslabor. Über 700.000 Euro werden dafür zur Verfügung gestellt, zu 50 Prozent finanziert von der Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft (FFG) und zu 50 Prozent von der Universität Salzburg, der Pädagogischen Hochschule Salzburg und dem Land Salzburg. „Mit diesem Bildungslabor wird der technologische Wandel in der Wissenskommunikation aktiv gestaltet. Bei der Planung des Innovationslabors waren wir überzeugt, dass die Digitalisierung neue Unterrichtsformate ermöglicht. Mittlerweile hat die Notwendigkeit im Zuge der Coronakrise die digitale Kompetenz im Bildungsbereich sehr schnell erhöht. Diese Erfahrungen gilt es einzubringen und die positiven Ergebnisse in die zukünftige Entwicklung einfließen zu lassen. Es ist ein Projekt, das dazu beiträgt, unseren Kindern auch in Zukunft die Flügel zu heben“, so Frau Landesrätin Mag. Klambauer in ihrem Statement.

Im Kommunikationsteam vom ITG – Innovationsservice für Salzburg holt Maria innovative, digitale Unternehmen und Geschäftsmodelle vor den Vorhang. Sie ist überzeugt, dass EdTech unser Bildungssystem besser macht und freut sich, bei der Integration von EdTech in unsere Bildungslandschaft mithelfen zu können.

Weitere Beiträge

Folgende Beiträge könnten Sie auch interessieren.

Foto: Innovation Salzburg/Probst Photographie

EdTech Summit Austria zeigte die Vielfalt der Szene

Artikel lesen
Foto: jamesmarkosborne on unsplash

Software Development statt arbeitslos – everyone codes macht’s möglich

Artikel lesen
Foto: Resch & Frisch

„Heute schon gefoxt?“: Das MicroLearning von KnowledgeFox

Artikel lesen
Foto: courseticket

Digitale Bildungsmarktplätze von courseticket

Artikel lesen
Foto: Schubu

SchuBu und die Freude am Lernen und Lehren

Artikel lesen