15. February 2024, Miscellaneous

This is the EdTech Austria team: Project Leader Jools Turrell

For a little over three years now, there has been EdTech Austria. We have achieved a lot: nearly one hundred and sixty members, numerous networking events, two EdTech Austria Summits, initiated several projects like the innovation lab Inter-Di-Ko, and much more. The team is also expanding. And we want to introduce you to the people behind all this work here.

Do you already know Jools?

Justice and equal educational opportunities – that is important to Jools. That’s why the cultural and social anthropologist and media scientist worked with children and young people on their media skills early on. And that is also why she co-founded the JANA association in 2013 – an education project that now runs several schools in various villages in Bangladesh.

What is your name?

Foto: Benedikt Schemmer/Innovation Salzburg

Julia Alwine Turrell (or just: Jools)

When did you join EdTech Austria?

Since May 2022, I have taken over the project management role, starting in early 2024.

Describe yourself in three words:

Enthusiastic, open-minded and responsible

Your motto?

Go with the flow!

Why are you committed to education in general and digital education in particular?

Education is the key to social justice and makes people happy. I grew up very privileged in terms of my education. If I hadn’t had such a strong social environment, I’m sure I wouldn’t have got this far. Growing up between different cultural areas, I asked myself early on why some people go to school and others don’t, why some people have to pay for it and others don’t. In the further development of our education system and our educational opportunities in the digital space, I see a possibility for more equal opportunities. At the same time, it is incredibly important to be able to deal critically with digital media.

What is your favourite way to learn?

By experiencing something new, new people, new countries, new cultural settings. For me, learning begins with looking.

What do you think the school will look like in 20 years?

Hopefully it will still be a space for community and closer to people’s needs.

Your first experience with digital educational technologies that you can remember?

I can remember the first use of digital technologies and processes in education, namely computer science lessons in grade 6 and my excitement about the simplicity of being able to express everything in 0s and 1s. I remember, it must have been in the 7th grade, teachers who wanted us to research something on the internet as homework. I refused because not everyone had the same access to the internet.

And also very early on, I must have been about 20 years old, I made podcasts with children and showed them how to do it. We prepared self-acquired knowledge about a concentration camp in the form of media and produced radio plays. This not only taught them history, but also promoted media skills.

What is the best way to reach you?

Call! I love the spoken word.

What else would you like to learn?

I am currently learning sailing, I would like to continue learning Bengali and Arabic. I never want to stop learning! I look forward to every new challenge.

This is how you can reach Jools:

+43 5 7599 722 53

julia.turrell@innovation-salzburg.at

Linkedin - Marlene Dietrich-Gsenger

In the communications team of ITG – Innovation Service for Salzburg, Maria brings innovative, digital companies and business models on stage. She is convinced that EdTech makes our education system better and is happy to help integrate EdTech into our educational landscape.

More articles

The following articles might also interest you.

Photo: Sincerely Media on Unsplash

ISTE Seal: The Seal of Approval for Digital Learning Tools

20. December 2023

Read article
Photo: Evelyn Baier-Schmid

Programming made easy: Coding Day 2023

27. November 2023

Read article
Photo: Sebastian Pandelache on Unsplash

Early Childhood Education Part 2: The Course is set on the Parents’ Screen

20. November 2023

Read article
Photo: Hao Wang on Unsplash

Early Childhood Education Part 1: Chasing the water strider in a lab coat

25. September 2023

Read article
Photo: Nick Morrison on Unsplash

Never again pen and paper? A glimpse into the learning world of Gen Z

5. September 2023

Read article

15. Februar 2024, Allgemeines

Das ist das EdTech Austria Team: Projektleiterin Jools Turrell

Seit etwas mehr als drei Jahren gibt es EdTech Austria. Wir haben viel erreicht: Fast hundertsechzig Mitglieder, viele Netzwerktreffen, zwei EdTech Summits Austria, haben einige Projekte, wie das Innovationslabor Inter-Di-Ko auf den Weg gebracht und vieles mehr. Auch das Team wächst. Und wer hinter all der Arbeit steckt, wollen wir euch hier vorstellen.

Kennt ihr schon Julia – Jools – Turrell?

Gerechtigkeit und gleiche Bildungschancen – das ist Jools wichtig. Daher hat die Kultur- und Sozialanthropologin und Medienwissenschafterin schon früh mit Kindern und Jugendlichen an ihrer Medienkompetenz gearbeitet. Und deswegen hat sie auch 2013 den Verein JANA mitbegründet – ein Bildungsprojekt, das mittlerweile mehrere Schulen in verschiedenen Dörfern in Bangladesh betreibt.

Wie heißt du?

Foto: Innovation Salzburg/Benedikt Schemmer

Julia Alwine Turrell (oder: Jools)

Seit wann bist du bei EdTech Austria?

Seit Mai 2022, Anfang 2024 habe ich die Projektleitung übernommen.

Beschreibe dich mit drei Worten:

Enthusiastisch, aufgeschlossen und verantwortungsbewusst

Dein Motto?

Go with the flow!

Warum engagierst du dich für Bildung im Allgemeinen und für digitale Bildung im Speziellen?

Bildung ist der Schlüssel für soziale Gerechtigkeit und macht die Menschen glücklich. Ich bin in Bezug auf meine Bildung sehr privilegiert aufgewachsen. Hätte ich nicht so ein starkes soziales Umfeld gehabt, wäre ich sicher nicht so weit gekommen. Aufgewachsen zwischen verschiedenen Kulturräumen, habe ich mich früh gefragt, warum die einen zur Schule gehen und die anderen nicht, warum die einen dafür zahlen müssen und die anderen nicht. In der weiteren Entwicklung unseres Bildungssystems und unserer Bildungsmöglichkeiten im digitalen Raum sehe ich eine Möglichkeit für mehr Chancengleichheit. Gleichzeitig ist es unheimlich wichtig, kritisch mit den digitalen Medien umgehen zu können.

Wie lernst du am liebsten?

In dem ich etwas Neues erlebe, neue Menschen, neue Länder, neue kulturelle Settings. Für mich beginnt lernen mit hinschauen.

Wie denkst du, sieht die Schule in 20 Jahren aus?

Er ist hoffentlich immer noch ein Raum für Gemeinschaft und näher an den Bedürfnissen der Menschen.

Deine erste Erfahrung mit digitalen Bildungstechnologien, an die du dich erinnern kannst?

Ich kann mich an die ersten Anwendung von digitalen Techniken und -verfahren im Bildungsbereich erinnern, nämlich an den Informatikunterricht in der 6. Klasse und meine Begeisterung über die Einfachheit alles in 0 und 1 ausdrücken zu können. Ich erinnere mich, das muss in der 7. Klasse gewesen sein, an Lehrer:innen, die uns als Hausaufgabe etwas im Internet recherchieren lassen wollten. Ich habe mich geweigert, da nicht jeder den gleichen Zugang zum Internet hatte.

Als ich circa 20 Jahre war, habe ich mit Kindern im Radio gearbeitet und ihnen gezeigt, wie das geht. Wir haben selbsterworbenes Wissen über ein Konzentrationslager medial aufbereitet und Hörspiele produziert. Hierbei wurde nicht nur Geschichte gelernt, sondern auch Medienkompetenzen gefördert.

Wie kann man dich am besten erreichen?

Anrufen! Ich liebe das gesprochene Wort.

Was würdest du gerne noch lernen?

Ich bin gerade dabei Segeln zu erlernen, ich möchte Bengalisch und Arabisch weiter lernen. Ich möchte niemals aufhören zu lernen! Ich freue mich über jede neue Herausforderung.

So erreichst du Jools:

+43 5 7599 722 53

julia.turrell@innovation-salzburg.at

Linkedin - Marlene Dietrich-Gsenger

Im Kommunikationsteam von Innovation Salzburg holt Maria innovative, digitale Unternehmen und Geschäftsmodelle vor den Vorhang. Sie ist überzeugt, dass EdTech unser Bildungssystem besser macht und freut sich, bei der Integration von EdTech in unsere Bildungslandschaft mithelfen zu können.

Weitere Beiträge

Folgende Beiträge könnten Sie auch interessieren.

Foto: Innovation Salzburg/Benedikt Schemmer

EdTech Austria Summit: Muss Lernerfolg messbar sein?

8. Mai 2024

Artikel lesen
Foto: Innovation Salzburg/Andrea Kurz

Keep calm and keep learning: Die EdTech-Zukunftsreise 2024

23. April 2024

Artikel lesen
Foto: Sincerely Media on Unsplash

ISTE-Seal: Das Gütesiegel für digitale Lerntools

20. Dezember 2023

Artikel lesen
Foto: Evelyn Baier-Schmid

Programmieren leicht gemacht: Der Coding Day 2023

27. November 2023

Artikel lesen
Foto: Sebastian Pandelache on Unsplash

Frühkindliche Bildung Teil 2: Am Bildschirm der Eltern werden Weichen gelegt

20. November 2023

Artikel lesen